Full Plate || Hungry Heart

I’m tired. 
Tired of the rat race.
Tired of putting my efforts into things that will fade away.
As my plate fills up – with classes, due dates, work, bills… worries – I lose my appetite for it all. I am UNSATISFIED here in the fragmentation, the separation from our God.
Everything in my soul screams:
this is not how it is supposed to be!
It is entirely excruciating to live in this ‘less’ when I’ve tasted His more.
-Hebrews 11-
“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see… They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance, admitting that they were foreigners and strangers on earth…
none of them received what had been promised,  since God had planned something better for us so that only together [He] with us would they be made perfect.
Were you waiting for the catch?
Yesterday a dear friend reminded me of the simple truth of it all:
He knows.
Jesus has been here, remember?
He stepped into this fragmented world
He knows what it’s like to feel completely dissatisfied,
He knows what it’s like to look around and wonder why everyone is filling their plates
-stuffing themselves with busyness-
but forgetting to stop and take a drink of the living water
He knows,
And he says:
“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives.
Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid…
As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love.”
What a blessing to be dissatisfied with what the world has to offer!
What a blessing to know we are called home to that kind of father!
The more I know that love, the more dissatisfied I grow with all the false pretenses that the world tries to distract me with.
And what a miracle that it is for God to make me know the fullness of the hope in which we are called to.
My prayer for myself and for all of you is that He will continue to make the world less and less to us, so that we are not consumed by distractions but instead completely in awe and eagerly awaiting the hope that he has called us to; the promises he has made to us.
I know what it’s like to do the rat race, guys.
Leave a Reply

